A Leprechaun, lasagna, cupcakes & lots of pink

It’s absolutely gorgeous outside ~ Apple and her friends are playing hopscotch and jumping rope- girly style.  Why do I call it girly style?  Because everything  is in shades of pink.  Pink lemonade, pastel pink, coral, flamingo pink, hot pink……

WP_20150317_16_42_15_Pro
Pink.
and more pink.
and more pink.
nom, nom.
festive…wouldn’t you agree?

Of course when you play so hard, dance, and jump rope, there should always be something delicious waiting for you when you’re finished having fun.      For St. Patrick’s Day~ though we are not Irish, the girls had adorable green cupcakes- compliments of Wegmans.  Today I skipped the baking of cupcakes, but I did bake a pan of lasagna.

I never had a recipe for lasagna.  My skilled training for making this dish came from watching my father in the kitchen while he sculpted this oh-so-full of flavor favorite.  My sister is a great cook, as my brother (the chef), and at times, I would take note to the family secrets of cooking true Northern Italian meals.

But today, I take a short cut – I’m going to call it the hopscotch version to making [my] lasagna.  Flipping through my Dean&DeLuca cookbook  (love D&D) I take notice to a pesto lasagna in their cookbook.  Thanks to uninvited aphids, my basil bit the dust last month.  Thank goodness there was a jar of pesto hiding in my pantry!   I don’t measure.  I add for taste.  And we love basil, cracked pepper and rosemary – so I go at it!

Hopscotch version:  8 oz. ricotta cheese 1 package cream cheese 2 egg  2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese rosemary basil/pesto  1 tsp. olive oil cracked pepper combine ingredients together- blending well, as to form a smooth paste.   spread on lasagna strip as you would making regular lasagna- I don't skimp- I love the filling , especially with pesto- so I smother!
Hopscotch version:
8 oz. ricotta cheese
1 package cream cheese
2 eggs
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
rosemary
shredded basil/pesto
1 tsp. olive oil
cracked pepper
combine ingredients together- blending well, as to form a smooth creamy paste. spread on each lasagna strip – as you would prepare basic lasagna- I don’t skimp- I love the filling , especially with pesto- so I smother!
thYHKMNA4G
Nom, nom!
the gross part.
the gross part.

It must have been yummy, because I have no left overs.  Only dirty dishes.

Football Superstar and I enjoyed the last two cupcakes with a scoop of Turkey Hill vanilla bean ice cream on the side!

I almost forgot….. we had a visit from the Leprechaun too!  He peddled his little bike passed the girls.   The girls didn’t notice, but I was able to get a quick photo of him!  So to my Irish friends…..I apologize for getting “creeped out” over your leprechauns in the past….. they really are cute. But I still prefer the Travelocity gnome.

thTCN4D467
Just passing through.
He too, likes the beach.
He too, likes the beach.

Now, go and smell the roses!  Or is it lasagna?

One thought on “A Leprechaun, lasagna, cupcakes & lots of pink

Leave a Reply

