Everything New in an Old Towne

One of the best things I love about living in Virginia, is the local events that take place almost monthly.  Even in the middle of the winter.  (sorry, Virginians…these are mild winters)  I love that we can attend an event either on the waterfront, in Historic Leesburg, Old Towne Alexandria, in the District, or at one of our new “cities”.   Come spring and summer…events take place every weekend!     No, really, there are!

Just this weekend alone, we attended a Friday Night Out at One Loudoun, where my husbands office is located.  Saturday was an 83 degree day (pool could have opened) so we took on the Old Dominion/DC trail where there were bikes, runners and plenty of cheering.  I did not register for this run…no way….marathon-ish kind of crazy run.   However, we soaked in the sun and walked along the Potomac watching the occasional heron fly over the water. Apple and I stopped in a few shops in search of a wedding gift.

WP_20150411_14_10_49_Pro

We found so many gifts.  Just being surrounded by sunshine is exhilarating yet exhausting by the end of the day.   I love it!

Sunday was a day spent in Historic Leesburg. Downtown Leesburg.  Or as some refer to it “the city of Leesburg”.   This weekend was the annual Garden & Flower Show, along with a few vintage shabby shops and great restaurants that turn King Street into a French Market.  I love it!

17th century bank now Lightfoot Restaurant.
17th century bank now Lightfoot Restaurant.

I enjoy looking at the old buildings and photographing them.  It’s their nooks and crannies that capture my attention.  Architectural design even in the 17th Century amazes me.   Unfortunately , I ran out of the house without my awesome little blue point & shoot camera which has an additional lens.  I snapped these with my Windows phone, which has a good camera….but I couldn’t get those cool angles I love capturing with my Cannon.

Brick paths.  I love brick!
Brick paths. I love brick!

WP_20150419_12_21_05_Pro

Garden art.  Copper sprinkler for gardens...so cool.
Garden art. Copper sprinkler for gardens…so cool.
I'm addicted to windows and doors.
I’m addicted to windows and doors.

I love windows and doors.  Especially those with iron grills and iron gates.    And pooey….realized my door pictures were somehow deleted.  {{sigh}}

WP_20150419_15_11_40_Pro

Some garden vintage ~ of course I wanted it. I thought of LeeAnn & Liz who are also wild about bunnies!
Creating her own flower pot
Creating her own flowerpot
Apple you're so sweet sharing that handmade ice cream with daddy.
Apple you’re so sweet sharing that handmade ice cream with daddy.
And of course, the best part of our day is greeting all the pups...this is Striker the K-9 Service dog.  Melts my heart.
And of course, the best part of our day is greeting all the pups…this is Striker the K-9 Service dog. Melts my heart.
So, daddy....I do believe Apple picked this French Market headboard for her new bedroom.
So, daddy….I do believe Apple picked this French Market headboard for her new bedroom.
So, daddy....I believe mommy picked this French Market table set for her new kitchen.   Just saying.
So, daddy….I believe mommy picked this French Market table set for her new kitchen. Just saying.
Summer project!
Summer project!
"Cupcakes" get it.
“Cupcakes” get it.

Ladies in Waiting at Lightfoot Restaurant.  This little side café is part of the Lightfoot restaurant.  They offer an assortment of sandwiches, sweets, coffee, and more.  I had to try one of the “cupcakes”  and purchase a very cool vintage style t-shirt.    (thanks dad for the early birthday gift)

I'm officially a Lady in Waiting.
I’m officially a Lady in Waiting.

This was a fantastic weekend.   As I sit here typing, the tap, tap, tap of rain hits the window next to my desk.  It sounds so nice- almost tranquil – like the fountains from todays garden show.  (except now a loud air bus just flew over our home- couldn’t the pilot take another route?)   September is in her usual spot here on my desk – staring at me – but with only one eye open.  It’s only a matter of time that she will finally close the other eye and fall into a dream where she is chasing mousies.  Fake ones.  Filled with catnip.

If there are any other Ladies in Waiting that would like to join me Downtown Leesburg, (the city of Leesburg/historic Leesburg) or Old Towne Alexandria, our Nations Capitol, Frederick Maryland………..

I just love old townes.

2 thoughts on “Everything New in an Old Towne

Leave a Reply

