Missing the biz

My decorating style has gone from Country to Primitive to Old World Antique to Flea Market Vintage to French Market Shabby.   I once owned a little antique shop in Pennsylvania.  It was a darling little shop filled with rustic primitives, vintage and reproductions.  Simple Dimple was a dream come true.  With the help of my husband and a very nice contractor, we turned a 1950’s cottage that sat on our property into an inviting shop filled with handmade items.   My bestie, LeeAnn (It’s All About the Cozy) added to my darling shop with her handmade rag quilts, shabby chic cork boards, pillowcase dresses – and that’s not all she made!    A dear family friend Jeanne created folk art “Garden” dolls from vintage linens, primitive folk art paintings, along with some of the coolest antiques I’ve ever seen.  We had guest vendors who added their items – Michelle of Wear Ware, antique flatware turned into funky jewelry, and Sharon of Tea Brew’s Peace, handmade jewelry designed with gems and precious tea cup charms.  {I still wear mine!}  It’s been almost 5 years and there are moments I do miss my shop.  I miss refurbishing furniture that was once an unwanted dresser or sewing table – watching it come back to life – and having the pleasure selling it to another lover of all things upcycled.    I loved scavenging around an auction after the sale was over to see what “throw-aways” were waiting for me to put in my SUV!   I don’t miss being the one who was always the designated jumper, to go deep into a dumpster or crawl under a barn floor in search of the diamond in the rough.   Thank you, LeeAnn!

Today, LeeAnn and I still enjoy finding vintage junk to upcycle, or to enjoy a day at a funky flea market scouting for something charming.     One mans junk….is a junk gypsies dream!

LeeAnn is now living in Virginia Beach working on a business plan.  (to be announced!!)   I find that diamond in the rough to restore now and then.   But we never lost our passion of owning a brick and mortar shop – maybe another day……

* * * * * * * *

Three hours of white washing, dry sanding (to capture years of distress), and more wet sanding I finally completed this little book shelf that was found in a friends storage room.   Why, yes please I’ll take it off your hands!     The chair is compliments of my father……another find that was on its way to Goodwill!

WP_20150505_09_53_31_Pro

A light white washing – dry & wet sanding will guarantee ugly nails, scraped fingers and great results!

WP_20150505_11_20_10_Pro

Waiting to dry.  Then I’ll add Annie Sloan wax.     Time for me to enjoy a tall glass of Red Vanilla Madagascar iced tea.

Oh, one more thing….if you see my husband….don’t tell him what I’ve been up to!

Annie Sloan soft Wax
Annie Sloan soft Wax

**Be sure to find Momma Daisy on facebook

One thought on “Missing the biz

Leave a Reply

