Pool side & Recipes

After a [crazy] busy week – this feels good.  Sitting pool side – sipping water with lemon – lots of ice – and taking it all in.

Our College Daughter called just before I jumped into the cool water – it may be 90 degrees with humidity as thick as soup –  but I don’t always enjoy the initial shock of cold pool water.  Or the ocean for that matter!   Fortunately I was able to hear my phone ring inside my beach bag.   All is well in NC.   This first year of college was a challenge for her – but she survived – and is anxious to begin her sophomore year at VT.  Due to the volume of interns that applied for the various tech positions throughout the District – she didn’t get the internship position that was on the top of her list.  She is in NC – working.  I like to think there is a little “homesickness” going on.   But that’s just because I’m mom.   Paging through her work schedule to make arrangements for a road trip ….. this is the beginning of true independence.   I just became my mother!  

Now on to some food.   After my dip in the cool pool water, and some social time with other Piranha moms  – I decided to pull out my laptop and my favorite magazine Coastal Living.   So, instead of keeping these recipes to myself – I decided to share them with you.   Enjoy!

Cappuccino Cooler

Prep time – 7 min  

1 1/2 cups cold coffee

1 1/2 cups chocolate ice cream

1/4 cup chocolate syrup

crushed ice

1 cup whipped cream

In a blender, combine coffee, ice cream and syrup.  Blend until smooth.   Pour over crushed ice in one of your favorite tall summer tumblers.   Garnish with a dollop of whipped cream – serve with a summer smile!

Coco Mojo  (Coconut Mojito)

Muddle 6 fresh mint leaves, 3 lime wedges, and 1 teaspoon of brown sugar in the bottom of a cocktail shaker.   Add 1 1/4 ounces (2 1/2 tablespoons) Mount Gay white rum, 1/2 ounce (1 tablespoon) Malibu coconut rum, and 1 ounce (2 tablespoons) cream of coconut.  Fill shaker with ice, and stir vigorously until chilled.   Strain mixture into a tall glass, and top with 1 cup chilled club soda.   Garnish with a lime wedge, fresh mint leaves, and a pinch of grated coconut if desired.  Makes 1 cocktail.

Until next time….enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Pool side & Recipes

Leave a Reply

