namaste here with 3 fingers of wine

I don’t even know where to begin.   Summer.  (my love this season) Summer came and is walking jogging away from me [too] fast.    As we enjoyed our vacation, our mini road trips, my “girls-only” road trip and time poolside sipping sweet tea…..I’m also knee deep in boxes.  Boxes filled with donations.  Boxes filled with College Daughter’s donations.   Boxes that are currently waiting for our own household items to be packed and moved to yet – another location in the DC Metro area.

Rewind – two months.   Football Superstar has been gently asking me to make a decision where I would like to deeply “root” our family in NoVA.   He knows my passion for living near or on the water.   Olde Town Alexandria.   Rows of historic brick townhomes.   Admirals Row with its cobblestone roads.   Potomac.

Boston.  (London Calling post) Vonnie and her husband have been researching Boston.  On the water.   Historic section of single family homes and rows of townhomes.    Did I mention on the water.

Deep down inside my heart I knew we were not going to pack up yet-another moving truck  like a band of nomads and move out of this very busy, ever growing urban-suburban DC metro life.  After all.  We moved here for that very reason.  Real Estate.  Great schools and universities.    Growth.   And water?  Potomac.   Chesapeake.

Moving House.

College Daughter has one more year at VT.  Then she moves on to grad school.  Then four more years – but that location is to be determined.   Apple enters Middle School this year.  Time has passed in such a way I can’t even wrap my mind around it.  But in such great ways.  No regrets.  Nothing I would have done differently.    Well…. maybe…..to be on or next to the water.  (insert giggle)

 

Jump ahead – two months.   We’re having a family discussion on building a home.   Which type was hanging on thin thread.  Football Superstar wanted another single family home.  I adore and appreciate the simpleness of a townhouse.   And, yes, there are newer townhomes that have the unique design of my favs in Olde Town and downtown Manhattan.         Location?   Possibly the newest urban-suburban location at  One Loudoun.  My husband could walk to his office!      One of three  is crossed off my paper.  No more stacked condo living.   I never minded the condo/apartment lifestyle.     No grass to mow.  No snow to shovel.   Do we want another townhome?   There were so many questions, pros and cons but the biggest decision and most important….location, location, location!   A professional question at its best.

We decided to wait until after our last road trip to seriously begin looking at locations.      I wasn’t even home an hour and my  husband sent a text asking me to come look at a townhouse five minutes away from where we are located now.   Apple was thrilled!   I was confused.   Townhouse?   He’s leaning towards a townhouse?!     Another townhouse!  That meant – no large historic building in DC featuring a glorious four bedroom apartment with a knock-your-socks-off view. Who wouldn’t want that for a mere 1.7 million?!      (I was looking at that one)

I walked in the front door of this recently remodeled home and walked out.  Sold!  Well…I wanted it…so yes….please say it’s sold.   Unfortunately it’s not that easy – but my hubby made it pretty easy as easy goes for placing an offer on a home and working through home inspections, selling and HOA blah, blah, blah.

I called my friend Vonnie.  She literally just landed in Dulles International Airport after spending four weeks back home in UK.    That evening I was sitting in her beautiful townhouse kitchen sipping three fingers of wine with Water Crackers and smoked Gouda.  Three fingers of wine is what Vonnie poured as she tells me they are not moving to Boston – this year.   She’s giving it another year or two!   (phew)

Vonnie is happy to keep us here.  At least until they move up north.   I’m happy we are staying here too.   We moved from the kitchen to her inviting deck.   Still nursing my three fingers of wine.   I’m not going far.  Our neighborhoods will basically make us bookends.  I’ll be on the north end and she will be on the south.  It’s what holds our connecting communities together.   The awesome walking trails lined with magnolia bushes and tall decorative sea grass.   If you veer left off one trail it takes you directly to our favorite coffee cafe.    If you follow the trail it takes you to the Nature Center where Apple volunteers.   And if you meet in the middle…..you’re at one of our three community pools.    I’ve met so many wonderful people friends during my time walking these trails.  Why would I want to leave now?

Sarah&JT.   Lipi’s family&Lucky.  Beth& her crew.   The owner of Pugsly.   Chris&Bailey.     Desiree.   Amy.   Dana& Claire.  Lisa.  Amelia& her Murphy.   And not to forget the  nice tennis coaches who supplied pup with 62 tennis balls.

Football Superstar asked me if I was sure.   “Are you sure you want to stay here or would you want to keep searching – perhaps in your favorite Olde Town?”

Nah..I’m gonna stay here.

 

I’ve already started packing.

IMG_20170724_121641

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

